My To-Read Pile | curlsandcuppas

Hello all 🙂 I’ve loved reading since forever – there’s nothing better than curling up under a blanket with a cuppa tea and a good book…

IMG_3395.JPG

I thought I’d show you a few of the books that are on my ‘To-Read’ pile at the moment, that I’ll be reviewing as I read them 🙂

IMG_3392

A Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh

 After seven years of marriage Lady Brenda Last was mildly bored with country life in the Victorian Gothic mansion that was the symbol of her husband’s family pride. The affair she drifted into with a wholly worthless young man began as a diversion fashionable in her class and generation – and became a vortex of ironic calamities. “

I’ve never read any Evelyn Waugh novels, but so many people have recommended her novels to me, so when my English teacher gave this to me as a goodbye present ❤ I knew I had to read it!

IMG_3391

1984 by George Orwell

Newspeak, Doublethink, Big Brother, the Thought Police – the language of 1984 has passed into the English language as a symbol of the horrors of totalitarianism. George Orwell’s story of Winston Smith’s fight against the all-pervading Party has become a classic not the least because of its intellectual coherence. First published in 1949, it retains as much relevance today as it had then.

I saw an incredible adaptation of this incredible classic last year at the theatre, and ever since I’ve been meaning to read it. I know the basic story already, but I cannot wait to finally read it.

IMG_3390

Le Soleil des Scorta by Laurent Gaudé

Their lineage condemns the Scortas to shame. In Montepuccio, a small village in southern Italy, they live in poverty. But the family vowed to pass their heritage down from generation to generation. Away from the modest family tobacconist, their wealth is immaterial as experience, memories, wisdom, and a spark of joy.

^My iffy translation of the blurb in French 😉 ^

My best friend gave this book to me to read before our French A-Level, but I didn’t get round to it :/ So now it is on my pile to get through ASAP…

IMG_3389

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Abandoning his mordant criticism of modern men and morals, Huxley switches to the future and shows us life as he conceives it may be some hundreds of years hence. Written in the thirties when – whatever the immediate outlook may have been – people believed that ultimately all would be for the best in the best of all possible worlds, this novel is a warning against such optimism.

This one seems kinda similar to the concept of 1984, but I love reading these type of novels where the author has, in the past, predicted the future that is now the present – confusing right? But they are just so interesting to read, and always make me think a lot

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! I’d love to know what books are on your pile, lemme know in the comments 😉

Until next time… x

Twitter | InstagramBloglovin | Pinterest

Want to say something...

