Book Review 8/35 : Half Of A Yellow Sun | curlsandcuppas

Hello again lovelies 😉 This time I’ve got another book review for you!

This is my 8th book of this year, my goal is 35, but I got summer so I got hella more time to bury my nose into a good few novels…

IMG_2107

“In 1960s Nigeria, a country blighted by civil war, three lives intersect… their loyalties are severely tested as they are pulled apart and thrown together in ways that none of them imagined.”

I had heard such great things about Adichie’s other novels Purple Hibiscus and Americanah but I hadn’t heard of this one, until I got given it for my birthday at the end of last year. I worried that it might be a little too historically detailed for my taste, but Adichie expertly manages to create a storyline that is so enticing, whilst also shedding light on the real horrors of the Nigerian civil war in the ‘60s.

I literally could not put this down, and finished it with such a crazy mix of emotions: sadness at the tragedy of the truth it reveals, happiness at the human ability to return to normal life after such horrific events, and bereavement at my own personal loss of the characters – I got so attached to them!

Overall Rating: 4.5 stars

I would recommend this to anyone and everyone – it’s an enthralling read that will make you smile, laugh, rage and cry (cliché but true)

Thanks for reading! If you’ve read this, let me know what you thought? What are you reading at the moment? Let me know…

Next book review will be on Life After Life by Kate Atkinson 🙂

Until next time… x

 Twitter | InstagramBloglovin | Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Book Review 8/35 : Half Of A Yellow Sun | curlsandcuppas

Want to say something...

