Book Review: Gone Girl -Gillian Flynn | curlsandcuppas

Hello again! I’m back, crazy right?! I’m really liking getting back to blogging and chatting with all you lovely lot again, and it’s a great break from revision too J

I have always been a big reader. I love the way that I can escape into a novel and just lose myself in the narrative. Today I thought I’d review the book I have just finished, which is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

I wasn’t immediately sold on this book from the first chapter – not that I need that in a book, I’m normally quite patient with getting into novels – but very quickly I was totally engrossed in the mystery of Amy’s disappearance.

Now I am not going to give away any spoilers, but there is a small plot twist mid-way through the book. I must say, having read reviews of this book, I was a little disappointed by the twist, because most people seemed to talk about the huuuuuge twist in the plot. Although there is a twist, it isn’t exactly mind-blowing.

Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed the book, but it just wasn’t as shocking in the plot as I had expected.

Overall, I would totally recommend this novel to anyone who likes an intriguing and gripping read. It kind of felt like a modern Agatha Christie, which can’t be bad!

This was my 7th book of the year – my goal is to read 35 by the end of 2016. Follow me on Goodreads if you want to check out the others I’ve read, and please leave your links below 😉

Thanks for reading, I’ll be sure to do a review of the next book I read – Half of a Yellow Sun, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – so give me a lil’ follow so you don’t miss that J

Until next time… xxx

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Gone Girl -Gillian Flynn | curlsandcuppas

Want to say something...

