Winter Empties | curlsandcuppas

Hello, again. I have been very much absent from this little corner of the internet of mine over the past few months. I don’t really have any excuses other than the fact that I’ve been embracing my offline life, and trying to stay on top of the endless pile of work that constitutes A Levels… But with the new year, inevitably, come new goals, and so I’m back to try and keep this blog up and running a little better.

I thought I’d start today with an empties post, as I’ve finished many a product over the last few months. Anyways, let’s get on with it…

I thought I’d group the products in terms of type, so I’ll start with…

Deodorants:

IMG_9977

I’ve got through two of my old basic Sure Cotton Dry, which has served me well in the past. But, since I’m doing a lot more cycling and my ballet classes are ever more intensive, I’ve felt the need for something a little stronger. So I did my research, of course, and I found out about Mitchum. I saw Lily Pebbles on YouTube raving about this range and I thought I had to try it. I got the 48h Protection Unscented, I do like it, but I have to say I’m not overwhelmed. It does the job but nothing special, though I think I’ll try the roll-on version and see if that’s any better. I also finished a tiny can of the Vaseline Derma Beauty which was recommended by Sali Hughes in her column in The Guardian a while back. Again, this does the job but it isn’t anything special.

Skincare:

IMG_9978

I have also finished an impressive 3 bottles of my holy grail makeup remover, the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water. There is little to say about this other than that I love it and I have never and will never find anything better. They all say that this is a cheaper alternative to Bioderma, but to be completely honest, Bioderma would have to be incomprehensibly good to make me switch…

IMG_9979

A while ago I finished the Good Things Stay Clear Purifying Cleanser. The lovely Catherine sent this to me last Christmas and I loved it. It smells so delicious as contains mango and blueberry extracts. It isn’t too drying and really made my face feel super clean. It didn’t really help my acne much, but I have come to never expect that from high-street cleansers.

IMG_9980

I’ve finished two bottles of my favourite direct spot treatment, The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Oil. This stuff isn’t a ‘whole face’ acne treatment, but it really helps to target and reduce those particularly large and pesky spots.

Body Stuff:

IMG_9981

I finished up one of the Vaseline Spray&Go Moisturiser in Aloe Vera which I adore and is the perfect way to avoid that ridiculous sticky dance I always do with regular lotions when I’m bloody freezing and want to get dressed!

I also got through a bottle of the Dove Go Fresh Pomegranate and Lemon Verbena Body Wash which smells like a fruity heaven. This lathers really nicely into a foam that feels quite thick and luxurious for a high-street product.

Make-Up:

IMG_9982.JPG

First up are concealers. I very rarely wear foundation as it makes my acne worse and I don’t feel that it makes my skin look any better… But, I do wear concealer underneath my eyes on a daily basis, so I get through them fast! Firstly is my good old favourite the Collection Lasing Perfection in Cool Medium 2. This colour is a little light for my general skin tone but I mostly use it under my eyes so it has a lovely brightening effect. I did a review of this beautiful product a while back, so you can check that out here if it tickles your fancy.

Next is the Maybelline Lumi Concealer in 02 Nude. I do love the highlighting effect of this one, but the coverage is just not high enough for me. It works great in conjunction with the Collection one, but one its own it ain’t strong enough to cover up me dark circles!

Finally in the concealer department is the Rimmel Wake Me Up (I can’t see the shade because it’s rubbed off). I have a very love/hate relationship with this concealer. I think it works great in the summer as some light under eye coverage, but it can make me a little glitterball-esque if I don’t set it heavily with a mattifying powder.

IMG_9983

I also finished up the Rimmel Kate Eyeshadow Stick in 100 Rose Gold which I have just repurchased. This doesn’t seem like the kind of product I’d get through fast, but I love using it as a bit of a different-style eyeliner, as I have yet to master the staple black eyeliner wing… This looks great on the top and bottom lashlines, with big lashes and a warm red lip colour – very autumnal.

IMG_9984

I also, sadly, finished up a tube of my beloved Clinique High Impact Mascara. But, thankfully, my mum has passed two more samples of this on to me, so I shan’t have to manage without it. I use this mascara every single day as my first layer and then I pop varying combinations of others on top, depending what look I’m going for that day.

IMG_9985

Last but not least I finished one of the little perfume bottles in my Clinique Happy box set. It was the one called Happy in Bloom. I shan’t ramble on about this because I did a rather in depth (and popular!) review of the whole set a while ago, which you can have a look at here.

So that’s all the products I’ve worked my way through in the past few months. If you want to read more like this then check out some of my other empties posts here and here. I hope you enjoyed my first post of 2016 and hopefully it won’t be too long before I’m back again!

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin | Pinterest

xxx

6 thoughts on “Winter Empties | curlsandcuppas

  1. meganleighstringer says:

    mitchim is so good! the roll on is better tho 🙂
    Great post 🙂 just followed your blog, feel free to check out mine and if you like it please follow back? I post 3 times a week! Hope you’re well xxx

    Like

  2. Georgia says:

    I’ve mentioned the Micellar Water in my recent post – I can’t get enough of the stuff!

    I’ve just uploaded a January Empties onto my blog – I would love for you to have a read and let me know what you think of any of the products if you’ve tried them! 🙂 x

    Like

Want to say something...

