Easy Student Meal Ideas! | cherryblossom15

Hello. I have been really getting into cooking recently, mainly as an excuse to be productive in a way that isn’t revising! I have nailed a good few meals that I can now cook reasonably easily and without recipes, so I’m well on the way to my new year’s resolution of 10 meals. Today I thought I’d share with you one of my favourite recipes, it is so easy to make and tastes delicious!

Makes enough for 3 people (I made this for my mum, dad and myself – but me and my dad eat a lot of carbohydrates thanks to the high metabolisms, so it might be a little too much rice for the average 3 people)

Ingredients:
2 Cups Basmati Rice
1 Generous Dollop of Margarine

1 Onion
2 Small/1 Large Garlic Clove
1 Tin of Chickpeas
1 Tin of Tomatoes
Seasoning: Salt, Pepper and Dried Herbs

Grated Cheese (Cheddar)

Instructions:

01. Put a good lashing of oil in a large frying pan and wait until it is piping hot. Then put in your onion (chopped into small chunks – about 1×2 cm) and garlic (chopped very fine)

02. I cook rice in the way that my mum taught me (which I believe is the traditionally Northern Indian way?) Wash your rice 3 times through in a sieve over a pan of cold water – don’t worry if you prefer not to do this, I just always have!

ChickPeas+SauceRecipe1

03. When your onion and garlic begin to brown slightly at the edges and look soft, tip in your tin of chickpeas.

04. Put the 2 cups of rice in a large saucepan along with 3 cups of water. This measuring is hard to master, and I definitely still get it wrong, so only try this method if you’re prepared to take a risk or this is how you always do it!

05. Next turn up the heat for the rice and let it come to a gentle boil, then turn the heat right now and put the lid on. Set a timer for 25 minutes.

ChickPeas+SauceRecipe2

06. Once your chickpeas are slightly softer and warm to the touch, you can add you tinned tomatoes. I just chuck the whole tin in, and then swill a little bit of hot water round the tin and tip it on to get every last bit out – waste not want not!

07. This is the point when I like to set the table, grate some cheese ready for serving with the meal and perhaps wash some simple salad leaves as a side with the main.

08. Once your sauce begins to thoroughly boil, turn down the heat until it is at a gentle simmer stir in some salt, pepper and any other seasoning you wish and then pop on the lid.

ChickPeas+SauceRecipe3

09. When your 25 minute timer for the rice goes off, take the lid off the pan and fork the rice a little to check that it is not too sticky. If all has gone to plan then the rice should be piping hot, and separate reasonably easily.

ChickPeas+SauceRecipe4

10. Then turn off the heat on both the pans, give your sauce a stir, and you are ready to serve! I like to sprinkle some grated cheese on the top of my dish for added flavour (but I forgot to do this before took the picture!)

Thank you for reading, if you decide to make this meal then I’d absolutely love to se! Tag me in a picture on Instagram or Twitter (both @CherryB15Blog) and use the hashtag #CookingWithBlossom. Let me know if you’d like to see more Easy Student-style recipes. Until next time…

9 thoughts on “Easy Student Meal Ideas! | cherryblossom15

  1. Catherine says:

    Looks delicious! Also you’re Twitter profile picture (or whatever it’s called on Twitter) is so pretty, especially your hair – it’s so cool compared to my boring straight hair 😉 xx

    Like

Want to say something...

