MyPick #16: Primer

Hello! Today I’m writing my 16th instalment in my MyPick series (how time flies…) The subject is primers, so if you have any suggestions of primers I should try or thoughts on the ones I talk about, do let me know in the comments πŸ™‚

DSCF2448

BEST: Maybelline BabySkin

I love this primer so much, and I really don’t use it enough! I am not a massive foundation fan, so I usually just go with some undereye concealer and eye makeup. That means I don’t use primers, but nevertheless when I do, this is the one I go for. I love the smoothing effect this has on my skin, but it doesn’t dry me out. I’m not sure if it really reduces the appearance of my pores, but I don’t have massive pores, so maybe it’s hard to tell. I think for me, the best thing about this primer is that it doesn’t break me out! I have difficulty with some primers, asΒ you will see next…

DSCF2449

WORST: Benefit Porefessional

I know it will be a little controversial to admit how much I dislike the Benefit Porefessional, as it is suchΒ a beauty blogger staple. I got itΒ in a sample versionΒ from a friend, and I was so excited to try it (I could never have afforded to buy it for myself!) I used it the next day under my foundation, and although I had no problems on the day, it didn’t seem to do much for me. However, the next few day I developed lots of small red spots on my cheeks, nose and forehead (where I had focussed the primer) I immediately suspected the primer and stopped using it. The spots took a while to clear, and when I tried it again a few months later (hoping the first time was just a fluke) the same thing happened 😦 I would really love to love this primer, but unfortunately it just doesn’t agree with my skin… If anyone has had a similar problem, I would love to know πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading. If you have any primer suggestions for me, or thoughts on any of the products I mentioned above, please leave a comment below πŸ™‚

Tarika πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “MyPick #16: Primer

  1. christinf78 says:

    So sad to hear about the Benefit Porefessional! I recently bought it and so far love it. Fingers crossed I don’t end up with break outs too. I do use a Clarisonic to wash my face, that might help a bit in getting everything out of my pores too πŸ™‚

    Like

Want to say something...

